An Intimate Evening with Sir Isaac Julien


Sir Isaac Julien, RA (b.1960) is a critically acclaimed British artist and film-maker. In 2018, Julien joined the faculty at the University of California Santa Cruz, where he is Distinguished Professor of the Arts and leads the Moving Image Lab together with Arts Professor Mark Nash.

Current and recent international solo exhibitions include Isaac Julien: What Freedom Is To Me, Tate Britain, London, 2023; Lina Bo Bardi: A Marvellous  Entanglement, Philadelphia Museum of Art, 2023; Bechtler Museum of Modern Art, Charlotte, North Carolina, 2022; MAXXI, Rome, 2020–1;  Lessons of the Hour, Virginia Museum of Fine Art, 2022–3; McEvoy Foun-dation for the Arts, San Francisco, 2020–1; Once Again…(Statues Never Die), Barnes Foundation, Philadelphia, 2022; Western Union: Small Boats, Neuberger Museum, New York, 2020; Looking for Langston, Tate Britain, London, 2019; Playtime, LACMA, Los Angeles, 2019.Julien is the recipient of the 2016–17 James R. Brudner ’83 Memorial Prize, the Royal Academy of Arts Charles Wollaston Award 2017, and a Goslar Kaiserring Award in 2022. He was made a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday  Honours 2017 and granted a knighthood as part of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Honours List in 2022. 

Isaac Julien’s connection to Artpace began when he was chosen for the Fall 1999 residency, during which he produced The Long Road to Mazatlán (1999), a work that earned him a Turner Prize nomination in 2000. Isaac is an Emeritus member of Artpace’s Board of Directors and served on the board from 2004-2010. We are delighted to honor Isaac Julien and celebrate his life, art, and 27-year history with Artpace San Antonio.

Janet Flohr has been a friend to Artpace since its inception in 1995. She joined the Board of Directors in 2004 and served more than 15 years, receiving the lifetime honorary designation of Emeritus in January 2020. Janet has supported Artpace throughout and beyond her board tenure, giving generously to special events, exhibitions, programs, and special projects. This evening we will celebrate Janet’s vision, leadership, and dedication, which has guided us and profoundly impacted all aspects of our organization for over two decades.

Patricia Ruiz-Healy, Co-Chair 

Caroline Staudt, Co-Chair

Cristina Peña Walls, Vice Chair

Hayley Cornelius Almaraz, Treasurer

Ceci Goldstone, Secretary

Leah Bennett

Nate Cassie

Alexandra Cavazos

Kari Englehardt

Rick Liberto

Jo Chris Lopez 

Larry Mendez 

Shokare Nakpodia 

Cruz Ortiz

Linda Pace †

Katie Pace Halleran 

Cameron Redding 

Eric Rodriguez 

Margo Sawyer 

Ray Smith

Lara Wells

Jeanne Klein, Founding Chair Emeritus 

Janet Lennie Flohr, Emeritus

Isaac Julien, Emeritus

Cynthia Toles, Emeritus

J. Travis Capps, Jr., Advisory

John Walter, Advisory

Mark E. Watson III, Advisory

Riley Robinson, Director